top of page

Neuroendocrine Tumours (NET)

     Neuroendocrine tumours are a relatively rare type of cancer. They often cause little to no symptoms, so they are often discovered only by chance. In rarer cases, however, they can secrete hormones that can lead to symptoms such as diarrhea, flushing symptoms (seizure-like hot flashes), or hypoglycemia. Because of the wide variety of symptoms, even of small NET, diagnosis is challenging and requires a great deal of experience.

     For optimal treatment of this disease, imaging that is as accurate as possible is of particular importance. Neuroendocrine tumours often form very small metastases at an early stage, but these must be reliably detected before surgical removal. Furthermore, the selection of the best therapy - in addition to the site of origin and the growth rate of the NET - also depends on the spread of the tumour. In the imaging of NET, the 68Ga-DOTATATE PET/CT method is currently the gold standard, with the help of which even small tumours and metastases can be reliably detected. In this procedure, tiny amounts of a substance are injected into the vein, which binds very precisely to the cancer cells and thus makes them visible. I offer you the latest in imaging with 68Ga-DOTATATE PET/CT with a report from me personally. If desired, a detailed discussion of the findings of the PET/CT images including the next therapeutic steps is also possible. 

     In the treatment of inoperable or metastasized NET, in addition to various drug therapies, there is the so-called PRRT (peptide radioreceptor therapy) with 177Lu-DOTATATE. This therapy takes advantage of the fact that NET have a large number of so-called somatostatin receptors on the surface of the cancer cells. In PRRT, a protein that binds to these receptors is labeled with the radioactive 177Lutetium. By injecting this labeled protein into the vein, it binds almost exclusively to the cancer cells and leads to a targeted internal radiation that is not only highly effective, but also less stressful and leads to a proven increase in quality of life.

In contrast to the beta emitter 177Lu, alpha emitters such as 225Actinium (225Ac) offer higher efficacy due to their more potent radiation. Thus, therapy with 225-Actinium-DOTATATE shows promising results even in patients who have not responded to PRRT with 177Lu-DOTATATE. In patients who have already shown a good response to therapy with 177Lu-DOTATATE, or who have not yet been treated with it, the results are even better. Patients treated with 225Ac-DOTATATE need not fear more side effects. Our center is one of the few in the world that offers this special type of treatment. If you would like to learn more about 225Ac-DOTATATE treatment, please contact me.

     In 2012, I successfully completed my habilitation on the diagnosis and therapy of neuroendocrine tumours. Due to the constant scientific and clinical examination of this rare tumour disease, I can guarantee treatment according to the latest findings. In my office in Vienna I offer you a comprehensive and competent consultation as well as imaging. Should a therapy with 177Lu-DOTATATE or 225Ac-DOTATATE be useful, I can offer you this on an outpatient basis in a pleasant atmosphere. If, on the other hand, surgery or drug therapy is necessary, I work with experienced and specialized surgeons and oncologists. 

I will be happy to advise you on all diagnostic and therapeutic options.

bottom of page

Neuroendokrine Tumore (NET)

     Neuroendokrine Tumore sind eine relativ seltene Krebsart. Häufig verursachen sie nur geringe bis gar keine Symptome, so dass sie oft nur zufällig entdeckt werden. In selteneren Fällen können sie aber auch Hormone ausschütten, die zu Symptomen wie Durchfällen, Flush-Symptomatik (anfallsweise Hitzewallungen), oder Unterzucker führen können. Aufgrund der vielfältigen Symptome auch kleiner NET ist die Diagnostik herausfordernd und erfordert viel Erfahrung. 

Für eine optimale Behandlung dieser Erkrankung ist eine möglichst genaue Bildgebung von besonderer Bedeutung. Neuroendokrine Tumoren bilden häufig schon frühzeitig sehr kleine Absiedelungen (Metastasen), die jedoch vor einer operativen Entfernung sicher erkannt werden müssen. Darüber hinaus richtet sich die Auswahl der besten Therapie – neben dem Ursprungsort und der Wachstumsgeschwindigkeit des NET – auch nach der Ausbreitung des Tumors. In der Bildgebung von NET ist das Verfahren [68Ga]-DOTATATE PET/CT derzeit der absolute Goldstandard, mit deren Hilfe auch kleine Tumore und Absiedelungen zuverlässig erkannt werden können. Hierbei werden kleinste Mengen einer Substanz in die Vene gespritzt, die sehr zielgenau an die Krebszellen bindet und sie dadurch sichtbar macht. Ich biete Ihnen den neusten Stand in der Bildgebung mit einer Befundung durch mich persönlich an. Falls gewünscht ist auch eine detaillierte Befundbesprechung der PET/CT Aufnahmen inklusive einer Beratung bezüglich der nächsten therapeutischen Schritte möglich.

     In der Therapie von nicht mehr operierbaren oder metastasierten NET gibt es neben verschiedenen medikamentösen Therapien die sogenannte PRRT (Peptid-Radiorezeptor-Therapie) mit 177Lu-DOTATATE. Hierbei wird ausgenutzt, dass NET an der Oberfläche der Krebszellen sehr viele sogenannte Somatostatinrezeptoren aufweisen. Im Rahmen der PRRT wird ein Eiweiß, dass an diese Rezeptoren bindet, mit dem radioaktiven 177Lutetium markiert. Indem man dieses markierte Eiweiß in die Vene spritzt, bindet es fast ausschließlich an die Krebszellen und führt zu einer zielgerichteten inneren Bestrahlung, die nicht nur hocheffektiv ist, sondern auch wenig belastend ist und zu einem nachgewiesenen Zugewinn an Lebensqualität führt. 

    2012 habe ich erfolgreich über die Diagnostik und Therapie von Neuroendokrinen Tumoren habilitiert. Durch die ständige wissenschaftliche und klinische Auseinandersetzung mit dieser seltenen Tumorerkrankung kann ich eine Behandlung entsprechend der neusten Erkenntnisse garantieren. In meiner Ordination in Wien biete ich Ihnen eine ausführliche und kompetente Beratung zu den Möglichkeiten, den Nebenwirkungen sowie den Ablauf und die Organisation dieser Therapie sowie die Durchführung der Bildgebung. Sollte eine Therapie mit 177Lu-DOTATATE sinnvoll sein, kann ich Ihnen diese falls gewünscht auch ambulant in einer möglichst angenehmen Atmosphäre anbieten. Ich blicke auf eine Erfahrung von über 1000 Therapien mit 177Lu-DOTATATE zurück und stehe Ihnen mit meiner langjährigen, umfangreichen Expertise zur Seite. Sollte hingegen eine Operation oder eine medikamentöse Therapie notwendig sein, arbeite ich mit erfahrenen und spezialisierten Chirurgen und Onkologen zusammen. 

Gerne berate ich Sie über alle diagnostischen und therapeutischen Möglichkeiten.